A Brief History of the Riverside Heritage House
The Riverside Heritage House is one of the most iconic buildings in Riverside, California. Originally built in 1884, the house has been home to a number of different businesses and organizations over the years. Today, it serves as a reminder of Riverside’s rich history and is a popular tourist destination. Let’s take a look at the history of this fascinating building.
The Riverside Heritage House was originally built in 1884 by architect Frederick Russell White. It was commissioned by Elias J. Ware, one of Riverside’s founding fathers, and was intended to be used as a resort hotel. However, the hotel was never completed due to financial difficulties.
In 1892, the property was sold to the Women’s Christian Temperance Union (WCTU), who used it as a base of operations for their work in Riverside. The WCTU were responsible for promoting temperance and prohibition in Riverside and throughout Southern California. They also operated a number of other businesses out of the heritage house, including a restaurant and a boarding house.
The WCTU left the heritage house in 1903, and it was subsequently sold to the Baptist Church. The Baptist Church used the building as a parsonage for their ministers until 1925, when it was purchased by the City of Riverside. The City of Riverside then leased the building to various businesses over the years, including a law office, an antique store, and a real estate agency.
The Riverside Heritage House is one of Riverside’s most historic buildings. With over 130 years of history, the heritage house has been home to a number of different businesses and organizations. Today, it stands as a reminder of Riverside’s rich past and is a popular tourist destination. If you’re ever in Riverside, be sure to check it out!